You have no items in your shopping cart.

Cheap ShedsCheap Sheds

 

Are you confused whether or not you need council approval or a permit to build a shed? Don't worry a lot of customers have the same concerns. That’s why we are here to help clarify.

Whatever structure you are choosing to add to your property in South Australia, it's recommended you do some research to understand your state and councils guidelines regarding putting up new buildings (no matter how small).

The GOOD NEWS is that not every kind of building requires approval or a building licence.

A small to medium shed normally requires no paperwork however it's important to check if your structure falls into the exempt from approval category.

On this page I have provided some information for you, to understand the general rules in South Australia in regards to what to expect and what to do if you need building approval.

THE NUMBER #1 THING TO UNDERSTAND

 

If you build a shed, garage, carport etc without approval and you go to sell the property, or have someone complain, you can get into some trouble. If the council finds your building was added without council approval you could face major fines and be forced to remove the building.

So it is very important you consider the rules and regulations in your State before buying a shed.

IMPORTANT: It's not hard work, or going to cost you anything to check. Even after reading this page we suggest you give your local council a call to be safe.

SIZE RESTRAINTS IN SA

 

As mentioned before smaller structures, may be exempt from council approved such as:

  • Garden sheds
  • Tool sheds
  • bird aviaries
  • rainwater tanks.

As a guide, approval from Council is NOT required for these items if its being added to your home or a domestic residence.

However for a shed or small workshop you generally only need approval if it meets any of the following:

  • Higher than 2.5m above natural ground level
  • Larger than 15m2 in area
  • The Span is greater than 3m
  • Its subject of any obstructions

EXCEPTIONS: Even though your development may comply with the above, you may still be required to obtain planning approval if the structure is located between an existing building and the road frontage or if It’s closer than 900mm to secondary street boundary for corner blocks.

DO I NEED A BUILDING LICENCE?

 

You may only require an assessment on your plans to whether or not you need a licence if you are planning to develop any of the following:

  • Building a house or extensions
  • Garage
  • Granny Flats
  • Other buildings and structures such as swimming pools, retaining walls and fences.

It also needs to abide by The Building Code of Australia which outlines that your plans cannot impact,

  • The structural integrity of any other building
  • A fire-rated wall, ceiling or floor
  • Any emergency escapes or exists or similar to
  • Natural light, ventilation or fire protection system

TALK TO ALL PARTIES INVOLVED

 

It may be old fashioned but a little neighbourly etiquette can save you time, money and headache.

If you think your building may in any form impact your neighbor's view, light, space etc, have a chat to your them first to let them know what you are planning.

Making sure you keep the peace with your neighbour means a peaceful project and less hassle with getting approval if no one is objecting.

WHAT PAPERS DO I SUBMIT

 

If you do need council approval you will need to check again with your council what it is you will need but here are some items to expect:

  • Detailed site plan
  • Engineer Papers (which we will provide with your shed/workshop/garage)
  • Building Licence for very big buildings for example most of our custom sheds which are more thans 6 x 12 meters.
The information on this page is purely guidance and although we have taken as much action to keep it up to day and clear, you should always check with your Governing body for more details before taking action.

COUNCIL CONTACTS

 
COUNCILWEBSITECONTACT INFO
Adelaide City Council http://www.adelaidecitycouncil.com/ city@adelaidecitycouncil.com
(08) 8203 7203
Adelaide Hills Council http://www.ahc.sa.gov.au/ mail@ahc.sa.gov.au
Tel#:(08) 8408 0400
Alexandrina Council http://www.alexandrina.sa.gov.au/ alex@alexandrina.sa.gov.au
Tel#: (08) 8555 7000
The Barossa Council http://www.barossa.sa.gov.au/ barossa@barossa.sa.gov.au
08 8563 8444
District Council of Barunga West http://www.barungawest.sa.gov.au/ barunga@barungawest.sa.gov.au
08 8635 2107
Berri Barmera Council http://www.berribarmera.sa.gov.au/ bbc@bbc.sa.gov.au
08 8582 1922
The City of Burnside http://www.burnside.sa.gov.au/ burnside@burnside.sa.gov.au
(08) 8366 4200
Campbelltown City Council http://www.campbelltown.sa.gov.au/ mail@campbelltown.sa.gov.au
(08) 8366 9222
District Council Ceduna http://www.ceduna.sa.gov.au/ council@ceduna.sa.gov.au
(08) 8625 3407
City of Charles Sturt http://www.charlessturt.sa.gov.au/ council@charlessturt.sa.gov.au
(08) 8408 1111
Clare & Gilbert Valleys Council http://www.claregilbertvalleys.sa.gov.au/ admin@cgvc.sa.gov.au
(08) 8842 6400
District Council of Cleve http://www.cleve.sa.gov.au/ council@cleve.sa.gov.au
(08) 8628 2004
District Council of Coober Pedy http://www.cooberpedy.sa.gov.au/ dccp@cpcouncil.sa.gov.au
08 8672 5298
The Coorong District Council http://www.coorong.sa.gov.au/ council@coorong.sa.gov.au
1300 785 277
District Council of the Copper Coast http://www.coppercoast.sa.gov.au/ info@coppercoast.sa.gov.au
(08) 8828 1200
District Council of Elliston http://www.elliston.sa.gov.au/ dce@elliston.sa.gov.au
(08) 8687 9177
The Flinders Ranges Council http://www.frc.sa.gov.au/ council@frc.sa.gov.au
08 8620 0500
District Council of Franklin Harbour http://www.franklinharbour.sa.gov.au/ council@franklinharbour.sa.gov.au
08 8629 2019
Town of Gawler http://www.gawler.sa.gov.au/ council@gawler.sa.gov.au
08 8522 9211
Regional Council of Goyder http://www.goyder.sa.gov.au/ council@goyder.sa.gov.au
08 8892 0100
District Council of Grant http://www.dcgrant.sa.gov.au/ info@dcgrant.sa.gov.au
(08) 8721 0444
City of Holdfast Bay http://www.holdfast.sa.gov.au/ mail@holdfast.sa.gov.au
(08) 8229 9999
Kangaroo Island Council http://www.kangarooisland.sa.gov.au/ kicouncil@kicouncil.sa.gov.au
08 8553 4500
District Council of Karoonda East Murray http://www.dckem.sa.gov.au/ council@dckem.sa.gov.au
61 08 8578 1004
District Council of Kimba http://www.kimba.sa.gov.au/ council@kimba.sa.gov.au
08 8627 2026
Kingston District Council http://www.kingstondc.sa.gov.au/ info@kingstondc.sa.gov.au
(08) 8767 2033
Wudinna District Council http://www.wudinna.sa.gov.au/ admin@wudinna.sa.gov.au
(08) 8680 2002
Light Regional Council http://www.light.sa.gov.au/ light@light.sa.gov.au
(08) 8525 3200
District Council of Lower Eyre Peninsula http://www.lowereyrepeninsula.sa.gov.au/ mail@dclep.sa.gov.au
(08) 8676 0400
District Council of Loxton Waikerie http://www.loxtonwaikerie.sa.gov.au/ council@loxtonwaikerie.sa.gov.au
08 8584 8000
District Council of Mallala http://www.mallala.sa.gov.au/ info@apc.sa.gov.au
08 8527 0200
City of Marion http://www.marion.sa.gov.au/ council@marion.sa.gov.au
(08) 8375 6600
Mid Murray Council http://www.mid-murray.sa.gov.au/ postbox@mid-murray.sa.gov.au
(08) 8569 0100
City of Mitcham http://www.mitchamcouncil.sa.gov.au/ mitcham@mitchamcouncil.sa.gov.au
+61 8 8372 8888
District Council of Mt Barker http://www.dcmtbarker.sa.gov.au/ council@mountbarker.sa.gov.au
8391 7200
City of Mt Gambier http://www.mountgambier.sa.gov.au/ city@mountgambier.sa.gov.au
08 8721 2555
District Council of Mt Remarkable http://www.mtr.sa.gov.au/ postmaster@mtr.sa.gov.au
08 8666 2014
The Rural City of Murray Bridge http://www.murraybridge.sa.gov.au/ council@murraybridge.sa.gov.au
08 8539 1100
Naracoorte Lucindale Council http://www.naracoortelucindale.sa.gov.au/ council@nlc.sa.gov.au
(08) 8760 1100
Northern Areas Council http://www.nacouncil.sa.gov.au/ ceo@nacouncil.sa.gov.au
8664 1139
The City Of Norwood, Payneham & St Peters http://www.npsp.sa.gov.au/ townhall@npsp.sa.gov.au
08 8366 4555
City of Onkaparinga http://www.onkaparingacity.com/ mail@onkaparinga.sa.gov.au
+61 8 8384 0666
District Council of Orroroo Carrieton http://www.orroroo.sa.gov.au/ council@orroroo.sa.gov.au
08 8658 1260
District Council of Peterborough http://www.peterborough.sa.gov.au/ council@peterborough.sa.gov.au
08 8651 3566
City of Playford http://www.playford.sa.gov.au/ playford@playford.sa.gov.au
08 8256 0333
City of Port Adelaide Enfield http://www.portenf.sa.gov.au/ customer.service@portenf.sa.gov.au
(08) 8405 6600
Port Augusta City Council http://www.portaugusta.sa.gov.au/ admin@portaugusta.sa.gov.au
08 8641 9100
City of Pt Lincoln http://www.portlincoln.sa.gov.au/ plcc@plcc.sa.gov.au
08 8621 2300
Port Pirie Regional Council http://www.pirie.sa.gov.au/ council@pirie.sa.gov.au
08 8633 9777
City of Prospect http://www.prospect.sa.gov.au/ admin@prospect.sa.gov.au
08 8269 5355
District Council of Renmark Paringa http://www.renmarkparinga.sa.gov.au/ council@renmarkparinga.sa.gov.au
(08) 8580 3000
District Council of Robe http://www.council.robe.sa.gov.au/ council@robe.sa.gov.au
(08) 8768 2003
Municipal Council of Roxby Downs http://www.roxbydowns.com/ Roxby@roxbycouncil.com.au
8671 0010
City of Salisbury http://www.salisbury.sa.gov.au/ city@salisbury.sa.gov.au
(08) 8406 8222
Southern Mallee District Council http://www.southernmallee.sa.gov.au/ council@southernmallee.sa.gov.au
(08) 8577 8002
District Council of Streaky Bay http://www.streakybay.sa.gov.au/ dcstreaky@streakybay.sa.gov.au
(08) 8626 1001
Tatiara District Council http://www.tatiara.sa.gov.au/ office@tatiara.sa.gov.au
08 8752 1044
City of Tea Tree Gully http://www.teatreegully.sa.gov.au/ cttg@cttg.sa.gov.au
08 8397 7444
District Council of Tumby Bay http://www.tumbybay.sa.gov.au/ dctumby@tumbybay.sa.gov.au
(08) 8688 2101
City of Unley http://www.unley.sa.gov.au/ pobox1@unley.sa.gov.au
(08) 8372 5111
City of Victor Harbor http://www.victor.sa.gov.au/ localgov@victor.sa.gov.au
08 8551 0500
Wakefield Regional Council http://www.wakefieldrc.sa.gov.au/ admin@wakefieldrc.sa.gov.au
08 8862 0800
Corporation of the Town of Walkerville http://www.walkerville.sa.gov.au/ walkerville@walkerville.sa.gov.au
08 8342 7100
Wattle Range Council http://www.wattlerange.sa.gov.au/ council@wattlerange.sa.gov.au
(08) 8733 0900
City of West Torrens http://www.westtorrens.sa.gov.au/ csu@wtcc.sa.gov.au
District Council of Yankalilla http://www.yankalilla.sa.gov.au/ council@yankalilla.sa.gov.au
08 8558 0200
Yorke Peninsula Council http://www.yorke.sa.gov.au/ admin@yorke.sa.gov.au
(08) 8832-0000
The Corporation of the City of Whyalla http://www.whyalla.sa.gov.au/ customer.service@whyalla.sa.gov.au
(08) 8640-3444
To Top